Pie Time!

Those who have been following my blog since the beginning are probably aware that I LOVE pumpkin desserts. My favourite? My mom’s pumpkin pie, of course! I asked her what I should call it, because “Pumpkin Pie by Janis” just doesn’t seem snazzy enough. She told me to call it “Crow’s Nest Bakery’s Famous Pumpkin Pie”, which is kind of an inside joke. Long story short — her nickname is Crow/Crowsie; therefore, Crow’s Nest. Now, without further ado, I give you…

Crow’s Nest Bakery’s Famous Pumpkin Pie

Ingredients:
2 Eggs, slightly beaten
1 1/3 Cup Pumpkin Puree, canned or fresh
3/4 Cup Sugar
1/2 Tsp. Salt
1 Tsp. Cinnamon
1/2 Tsp. Ginger
1/4 Tsp. Cloves
1/4 Tsp. Nutmeg
1 2/3 Cup Evaporated Milk

You will also need: 1 Deep 9″ Pie Shell, unbaked

Directions:
Preheat oven to 425°F.
Whisk all ingredients together in order, pour into pie shell. Bake on centre rack for 15 minutes. Reduce heat to 350°F and continue baking for 45 minutes. Let cool and top with whipped cream (my mom covers the entire pie) and a sprinkle of cinnamon and icing sugar.

Tip:
-Check if pie is done by inserting a butter knife in the centre, if it comes out clean, your pie is done!
-Add a bit of icing sugar and 1 tsp. vanilla to your whipping cream as you mix it ^-^

P.S.- Sorry for the lack of photos! I took a few, but was not satisfied with them at all. I’ll try again once the pie is topped and cut.

Leave a Reply

