Hiro Mizushima – Renaissance Man

Hey I’m back! Well, temporarily anyway. I still don’t have any of my own work to show you, but I came across someone’s photography by chance the other day and I wanted to share them with you. It is the work of the brilliant actor, model, writer, everything man; Hiro Mizushima. I mentioned him once in the early days of “art and then some” in a post about the live-action “BECK” film, which was his last movie before a three year hiatus. In that time he had done a lot of writing and started up his own agency (so I’m told), and while he was sorely missed by fans, I am so glad to hear of all his accomplishments. Now he will be returning to ‘the big screen’ as Sebastian Michaelis in the live-action “Black Butler” (or “Kuroshitsuji”), which his fans (as well as fans of the anime/manga) can not stop talking about. And because this information seems to be everywhere, so are links to his official website. Of course I had to check it out — and this is how I stumbled upon his photographic genius. A lot of actors’ sites have photo or gallery pages that are filled with pictures of themselves taken by various artists, so I was surprised to see that Hiro’s photo page is all his own work. I felt a spark of inspiration for the first time in quite a while and I almost wanted to pick up my camera and roam around. I think this is a good start and that is why I’m sharing it with you now. I can’t seem to put into words just what it is about these photos that makes me so happy, but maybe you will know what I mean when you see them for yourselves. You can check them out at www.mizushimahiro.jp/photo ^-^

There are quite a few cloud pictures — which I love, because I am also drawn to our ever-changing clouds. I can’t help but feel that they evoke all sorts of emotions in people, even without them noticing. This is one of my favourites…

©Hiro MizushimaPhoto courtesy of Hiro Mizushima Official Website

By the way, I want to thank everyone for being patient and understanding. The weather is finally getting warmer, the snow is slowly melting away and aside from the overall dirtiness of the city, things are looking better. I think I’ll be back with my own work soon enough!

Leave a Reply

