Two Years Later – ONE OK ROCK

It has now been 2 years since the earthquake/tsunami/nuclear disaster that devastated Japan. Those who have been following my blog since the beginning have probably seen my previous posts about it, so I’ll try not to repeat too much of the same now. Two years after the disaster, Japan is still struggling to rebuild and many are still unable to return to their homes (please see Notes of Nomads’ article on the subject). One of the things I love most about Japan is that they always seem to come together in times like this, rather than resorting to chaos. I remember watching Anderson Cooper on CNN shortly after it happened and he pointed out how orderly and polite everyone was in line at gas stations and convenience stores. I honestly can’t see that happening here…  Anyway, this post is mainly about the Japanese band, ONE OK ROCK (One O’Clock) and the video they just shared that almost brought me to tears (seriously, the only thing stopping me from bawling like a baby is the fact that I was not alone in the room…) and how badly I want to share it with all of you. The song is called “Be the Light” and I’m sure you can guess what it is about.

The song is entirely in English, but if you feel you would prefer to see it with subtitles, you can check it out on their youtube channel. They have also posted it with Spanish, French, Japanese, Chinese and Portuguese subtitles. Please help spread their message of hope! No matter what or where the disaster, this message surely applies.

Now, as usual, I have to mention a few of the many ways you can help in the ongoing relief effort. You can read about the wonderful organization called “It’s Not Just Mud” on Notes of Nomads’ blog, as well as all their articles on rebuilding Tohoku. If you live in Japan (particularly Tokyo), I highly recommend you check out the photo walks they put together to help raise money for disaster relief.
And of course there is also Global Giving — another favourite of mine. I don’t think the Canadian Red Cross is still taking donations for earthquake/tsunami relief (at least online), but they have set up an international disaster relief fund to help out anywhere a natural disaster strikes.

Leave a Reply

