New Look

Well you may have noticed that Art and Then Some has had a new look for a couple of days now… I was getting bored with the old theme and wanted something bigger with more custom options. I’ve also been admiring other blogs with a crisp, black and white theme going on and decided it is the best way to showcase art. Then comes the header.. the one thing I didn’t like about this theme was the way it looked with a photo as the header, which got me thinking. Suddenly an idea came to me… a line drawing! I have never done a line drawing before and it turned out to be significantly harder than I thought it would be. To come up with multiple images in one line and keep it straight… I tried quite a few times and annoyed Shea in the process until we agreed this was the best and made the most sense for me. It starts with a camera, obviously representing photography; followed by a flower, for landscapes/nature; the profile of a person (I just couldn’t figure out how to do a face without lifting the pencil) for portraits; and lastly, a paint brush to signify art. The line then dissipates as a way of representing the “and then some” in the title.

I’d be lying if I said it turned out how I imagined, but I’m also my worst critic. Though I wasn’t going for perfect either, so I think it worked out well enough.

What do you think of the new look??

4 comments

  1. danleekim

    I dig it though I must admit, I thought you were an illustrator by the look of this until I read “Photography.” Nevertheless, I do dig it. 🙂

Leave a Reply

