Ganbaru Nihon – Continuing the Relief Effort

As of March 11th, it will be one year since the earthquake and tsunami hit (and destroyed) eastern Japan. It’s hard to believe it’s been so long already. I remember feeling an overwhelming urge to help and to know more. I had the t.v. on CNN most of the time. The rest of the time was spent worrying or searching for any new information I could find. Now a year has passed and although many have moved on and parts of the world have possibly forgotten all together, damage from the Great East Japan Earthquake has not disappeared. They are still a long way from recovery. The Japanese are nowhere near a shortage of faith in their country, or hope that things will be ok, but they need more than that if they are to really recover. You can still donate to Canadian Red Cross (click here for more info) or your country’s Red Cross if you live outside Canada. There are also other organizations like Global Giving (click for more info) which continue to collect donations for earthquake and tsunami relief, and I must say they are my favourite. Linkin Park’s Mike Shinoda has also designed a few t-shirts for disaster relief, which you can find in the merch section of their website (I have one and it is the comfiest shirt I’ve ever owned). You can also search for other groups and the different ways they may be helping and find what is best for you! Please donate, any little bit helps!

Now as for Photo Friday, I wish I could post something Japanese, but I’ve never been there. I have, however, met a Japanese tourist or two. This couple saw me taking pictures at Lake Louise and asked me to take their picture for them. Then they went off to look at it and I continued my photo-taking.

Ganbaru yo Nihon!!
xoxo

Leave a Reply

