Foreign Films and I

I love foreign films, as you may have noticed. It is true I love Japanese most, but I will watch films in almost any language. Some people have issues with reading subtitles and paying attention to everything else, but not I. I used to think it was kind of annoying, but now I just don’t care. In fact, some days I would rather watch something foreign just to give my brain a work out. I suppose it all started back when there was a channel switch and we wound up with a Spanish channel, but of course nothing was subbed. I started watching a Spanish soap opera every day, making up the stories myself as I had no clue what was really going on. Then that channel disappeared and I was limited to English programs once again. That is, until the day I saw Amelie, a French film about a unique woman who decides to help the people around her. I loved it, but I still didn’t think I cared for foreign films much. I certainly wouldn’t go out of my way to find one. I suppose my ever-growing love of Japanese culture finally brought me to where I am today… obsessed. I’m not holed up doing nothing but watching foreign everything, every day, but I have probably seen enough to last a life time (of course not mine, there’s more for me yet).

How do you feel about foreign films and/or shows?

For those of you who love them, as I do (particularly Asian films) you may be happy to know that Funimation Entertainment has picked up a few live action films recently. Drop (Japanese), starring Narimiya Hiroki and Mizushima Hiro was released in June (It was dubbed, but I prefer watching my live action in the original Japanese) so check your local HMV if you’re interested. Tajomaru: Avenging Blade (Japanese), starring Oguri Shun and Sword with no Name (Korean) starring Soo-Ae and Cho Seung-Woo will be released on September 20th. They both look great to me, I can’t wait to see them. You can watch the trailers below..

Oguri Shun is one of the most brilliant actors I have ever seen. He has also proven to be a brilliant director, so if you get the chance you should check out Surely Someday as well.

I’m not really familiar with Korean actors, but I love a good historical film, so I can’t wait for this!

4 comments

  1. ryancrockett

    Love foreign films! If you’re into Japanese cinema I would suggest checking out some of the films Korea has to offer. They are — in my opinion — generally better films.

    Right now the three big Korean directors are Chan-wook Park, Kim Jee-woon, and Bong Joon-ho. ‘Mother’ is an absolutely amazing film by Bong Joon-ho, would definitely recommend watching that first.

  2. Melanie

    I like foreign films too. My favourite is “Life is Beautiful”, The Russians ones I’ve watched have been fabulous. I’ll have to try some you’ve suggested.

    Oh and I really liked that you made up your own stories to the Spanish soap operas.

    • Ashley Løseth

      I should probably tell you then that “Drop” is a movie set in the 80’s about a group of delinquent teens. Its full of gang fights, but the story is really good, but its not the best. I guess its depends on what you’re into. You might like “Koizora” or “Hanamizuki” though.

Leave a Reply

