Yamapi

I just want to take a moment to gush about Yamashita Tomohisa, because it’s really strange that I haven’t yet. For those who don’t know, Yamashita “Yamapi” Tomohisa is a singer/actor from Japan and he is pretty amazing. Okay, I admit that his music isn’t exactly my style, but I listen to most of it anyway. The main reason why I’m writing about him now, is because I have been mesmerized by his acting. I have mentioned a few times before that I love watching a show or movie that makes me feel sick in a way, and that is surely not possible without good actors. Since hearing of Yamapi, I have been continually impressed, particularly when he cries. It’s actually pretty rare for me to cry along with TV and the like, but I will admit that he gets me every time. Even in Long Love Letter, when it only shows his anime tears for a second. Anyway… I first saw Yamapi in a show called Nobuta wo Produce, which would not have been the same without him. At first I wasn’t all too impressed, but he grew on me by the end of the show. It left me wanting to see what he’s capable of and so I watched Kurosagi, in which he plays a swindler who only cheats shirosagi or ‘white swindlers’ and I absolutely loved it (Seriously, if you get the chance you should check out Kurosagi!). I think I saw Proposal Daisakusen next and it’s kind of a blur from there… I have seen quite a few of his dramas now and there is not-a-one that I didn’t enjoy! My personal favourites are; Kurosagi, Buzzer Beat (if you’re into basketball, you might like this), Code Blue, Stand Up!! (also starring Oguri Shun and Narimiya Hiroki, who are also incredible actors!), Ikebukuro West Gate Park and PPOI (though I’m not sure that counts as a drama…)

I am currently waiting to see the film, Ashita no Joe, based on the boxing manga by Takamori Asao and Chiba Tetsuya. I don’t know much about the manga or anime, but this movie looks really good! Yamashita Tomohisa stars as Yabuki Joe.

Yamapi is also a member of the Jpop group NEWS along with Tegoshi Yuya, Koyama Keiichiro, Shigeaki Kato, Masuda Takahisa and Nishikido Ryo. Again, I’m not a huge fan of the music, but they are a really interesting bunch of guys! If you’re into Jpop check them out! (You probably already know who they are, but still.)

Leave a Reply

