Sea Oleena

Sea Oleena’s latest album “Sleeplessness” is absolute genius. Listening to each song is like floating down highways, crossing fields of flowers and other beautiful scenery. The vocals are both calming and haunting, which is somewhat reminiscent of Warpaint and Elliott Smith (specifically in the first 30 seconds of the song “Milk”). The insomniac theme reminds me of another great poet, Sylvia Plath and her semi-autobiographical novel The Bell Jar. (For those who don’t know, The Bell Jar is about a writer who suffers from depression and at one point, a crippling bout of insomnia.) I may have made “Sleeplessness” sound depressing, but I don’t think it is at all. In fact I feel better after listening closely to each song, floating over any worry I may have had in front of me. My personal favourite is “Untitled”, which I first heard through YouTube last summer. I loved it right away and it wasn’t long before I began singing it here and there when nobody was paying attention. The album version is also great, though I can’t choose which I like best.

The album also includes; “Southbound”, “Sleepless fever”, “Insomnia plague”, “Sister” and “Orion’s Eyes”. Check out “Sleeplessness” and Sea Oleena’s previous albums “Sea Oleena” and “Smudges” on her website seaoleena.bandcamp.com.

The album was written and produced by Charlotte Oleena and co-produced by Felix Green.

Leave a Reply

