BECK Live Action

Remember when I gushed about my love for Japan? Well, I’m about to gush some more. (Click here to read my post, Turning Japanese) I’ve been a gigantic fan of Harold Sakuishi’s BECK: Mongolian Chop Squad for quite some time now. I saw the anime first and then I read the manga. The story starts out with a boy named Yukio ‘Koyuki’ Tanaka who is completely bored with his life, until one day he meets Ryusuke Minami and his scrappy dog, Beck. Suddenly Koyuki is thrust into a world full of live houses and a style of music he had never heard before. He discovers a passion for guitar and, eventually, joins Ryusuke’s band BECK.

Now they’ve made a live action BECK and I could not be more delighted about it. Everyone seems to be perfectly cast, specifically Hiro Mizushima as Ryusuke, Aoi Nakamura as Saku and Kenta Kiritani as Chiba. When I first saw the trailer I was a bit skeptical about Takeru Sato as Koyuki, but I have since seen a few of his shows and I’m feeling a lot better about it. He looks nothing like Koyuki in the show, but he does resemble him in the manga. I’ve heard that the movie focuses more on Ryusuke than the show and manga, but other than that it seems to be exact. It also stars Osamu Mukai as Taira and Shiori Kutsuna as Maho Minami. The movie comes out on DVD and Blu Ray on Feb 2nd, 2011 in Japan, so hopefully it gets picked up by some company (possibly Funimation?) and distributed throughout North America! I am absolutely dying to see it (in case you didn’t notice). You can visit the official site here www.beck-movie.jp and watch the trailer below 🙂

This is the music video for the song “Evolution”

2 comments

Leave a Reply

