Pumpkin Fever

I have mentioned before that I love making cream puffs and experimenting with recipes to make them better suited to my taste. The batter is always the same, but there are so many possibilities when it comes to the filling. So last night I found myself pondering whether I should make pumpkin spice or peanut butter cream puffs. I chose pumpkin, of course, and they turned out to be just as delicious as I imagined. I suppose it is safe to say that I am extremely proud of myself for making up this recipe as I went and actually pulling it off. I hope you like it too!

Pumpkin Spice Filling (click here for cream puff batter)

Ingredients:
1/2 L Whipping Cream
1/2 Tsp. Vanilla
4 Tbsp. Icing Sugar
1 Cup Pumpkin Puree
1/2 Tsp. Cinnamon
1/4 Tsp. Nutmeg
1/4 Tsp. Cloves

Directions:
Using a hand mixer, whip together whipping cream, vanilla and icing sugar until thick and fluffy, set aside. In a smaller bowl, mix pumpkin puree, cinnamon, nutmeg and cloves. Add pumpkin mixture to whipped cream and fold in gently until evenly blended. Now fill your cream puffs!

Tip: Sprinkle cinnamon and icing sugar on top for a lovely garnished look.

Don’t forget to let me know what you think!

6 comments

  1. Sarah Loseth

    so glad you gave us the recipe! I was going to google it, but I guess I wouldn’t have found it! I will likely omit the cloves as I am not a big cloves fan – I never put it in my pumpkin pie.

  2. Ashley Løseth

    No problem! I thought of looking it up too, but I already knew what I wanted to do. My mom doesn’t care for cloves either, she thinks they’re too strong. I think cloves are awesome!

  3. Carmen

    I want to make these soooo bad but I have no wipping cream 😦 I will buy some tomorrow and give them a try! I may do these to fill my baking tins for my neighbours for Christmas this year!!! They look awesome!

  4. Carmen

    I made these today! WOW! AWESOME! I will have to do it again before Christmas b/c this batch is going to fast lol. I had a lot of extra whipping cream left over….I think maybe I will use it to top hot chocolate or latte’s mmmmmmmmmmm.

  5. Ashley Løseth

    Wow thanks! I’m glad you like them 🙂
    That sounds like a really good way to use up the extra cream. I didn’t actually measure the cream when I made them, so I guessed for the recipe. But at least its too much and not too little.

Leave a Reply

