Tony Curtis 1925-2010

Today I logged into Facebook to find that Tony Curtis has past away at 85. I’ve only seen a few of his films, but I found him to be extremely versatile and funny. Most may know him from Some Like it Hot and Spartacus (if you’ve seen both, you may see what I mean by versatile). Before today, all I knew about him was that he was once married to Janet Leigh (Psycho), is the father of Jamie Lee Curtis (A Fish Called Wanda) and had a scandalous affair with Marilyn Monroe (Some Like it Hot). But I’ve learned quite a bit from an article posted this morning on IMDB (which I encourage you all to read) for example, his birth name was Bernard Shwartz and he had a very rough childhood. He served three years in the Marines and later auditioned for acting school where he was spotted by a theatrical agent and one thing led to the other. Like most young actors at the time, he changed his name to something more catchy and thus began his career in film.

Somehow the fact that he had written a memoir escaped my notice, but now that I know I’ll have to add it to my list of memoirs to read. If you are also interested in his book, it is called American Prince: A Memoir and I believe it can be found in most book stores in the biography section. Some larger stores have a Hollywood bio section, so you may find it there as well.

“All my life I had one dream and that was to be in the movies.”
-Tony Curtis
June 3, 1925 – September 29, 2010

Leave a Reply

