Hello Autumn

Although it feels as if autumn has been here for weeks, the first day is actually tomorrow. Call me strange, but I am excited that this season is finally here! I like summer, but it gets too hot for me and I don’t enjoy being sweaty and uncomfortable. I love when new catalogues and flyers full of fall fashion gems arrive at my door. The child in me likes to crunch fallen leaves as I stroll down the street in my light brown trench coat and pashmina scarf. I am also a fan of holidays like Thanksgiving and Halloween and all the pumpkin that goes with. Speaking of which, the other night my mother made a pumpkin carrot cake with cream cheese icing and I must say it made a splendid autumn dessert (next to my favourite, pumpkin pie). There’s something about a bundt pan that screams autumn to me, so maybe that had something to do with it. Here is the recipe for this delicious fall cake 🙂


Ingredients:
3/4 Cup Granulated Sugar
3/4 Cup Packed Brown Sugar
3 Eggs
1/2 Cup Vegetable Oil
1 Tsp Vanilla
2 Cups All-Purpose Flour
2 Tsp Baking Powder
2 Tsp Cinnamon
1 Tsp Baking Soda
3/4 Tsp Salt
1 Tsp Nutmeg
2 Cups Grated Carrots
1 Cup Pumpkin Puree

Directions:
In a large bowl, beat together granulated sugar, brown sugar, eggs, vegetable oil, and vanilla until smooth. In separate bowl, whisk together flour, baking powder, cinnamon, baking soda, salt and nutmeg; pour over egg mixture and stir until moistened. Stir in carrots and pumpkin. Spread in greased bundt pan or 13×9 inch cake pan. Bake at 350°F (180°C) in the centre of the oven 40 minutes or until cake tester comes out clean. Let cool and then top with icing of your choice.

Tip: Add 1 Tsp Ginger, 1/2 Tsp Cloves (or 2 Tsp Pumpkin Pie Spice) to your cake mix to give it more flavour.
Sprinkle a bit of brown sugar or graham crumbs on top for a picturesque cake.

Cream Cheese Icing

Ingredients:
1/2 Block Light Cream Cheese
1/4 Cup Whipping Cream
3 Cups Icing Sugar
1 Tsp Vanilla

Directions:
Using a hand mixer, beat cream cheese, whipping cream and vanilla together. Gradually add icing sugar until mixture has a soft and smooth consistency.

Tip: Add the icing to your cake while its still a little warm. This way, the icing will melt and drape over your bundt cake majestically.

P.S.- I told you I would let you know how I liked The Pillars of the Earth the book and I enjoyed it very much! I did like the mini series better, but that’s probably because I saw it first. The characters seemed a little deeper in the show somehow. I also liked that Mistress Kate was given a more significant role in the show, adding depth to her character and also to Cuthbert. I could probably go on for hours about it, but I won’t for now.

9 comments

  1. Candace

    Mmmmm! Thanks for posting this Ashley! I’m excited to try it out because I know your Mom always has delicious recipes!!

  2. Linda

    I tried this again today with a gluten free flour mix and it is still fantastic. I just substituted the flour cup for cup. Thought you (and your readers) might like to know.

Leave a Reply

