There’s a Trick with a Knife I’m Learning to Do

When I was 17, I asked a friend of mine how good The English Patient (by Michael Ondaatje) is and he answered by reading me his favourite parts. I knew then that I had to read it, but I wouldn’t say I was hooked just yet. Of course I bought the book, opened it, read the first line and then I was hooked. I’ve tried to describe M.O’s style and tone many times, but there are no words to fit it. Some call it lyrical and experimental, and they’re right, but its more than that. So much more. All I can say is that it is perfect. Perhaps not for everyone, but it is for me. If you like to read, I suggest you sneak a peek into any Michael Ondaatje book you happen to come across, you just might love it!

There’s a trick
with a knife
I’m learning to do

Michael Ondaatje

Leave a Reply

